March 12, 1999: Doctor Who in “The Curse of Fatal Death”

The Curse of Fatal Death was a Comic Relief segment created for part of 1999’s Red Nose Day Celebration.

The Master corners the Doctor and Emma on Tersurus, prepared to unleash the deadly vengeance of deadly revenge!

First broadcast March 12, 1999 on BBC One at 8.00pm; four parts

Notable Cast & Crew

  • Rowan Atkinson – “The Doctor”
  • Richard E Grant – “The Doctor”
  • Jim Broadbent – “The Doctor”
  • Hugh Grant – “The Doctor”
  • Joanna Lumley – “The Doctor”
  • Julia Sawalha – “Emma”
  • Jonathan Pryce – “The Master”

Find out more

*The 20th Century in Sound & Vision is not responsible for these websites

December 31, 1988: The Official Doctor Who & the Daleks Book published

The Official Doctor Who & the Daleks Book

The Official Doctor Who & the Daleks Book by John Peel & Terry Nation was a complete episode guide to the Dalek television stories, movies, and stage plays, including full credits, detailed story synopses, and behind-the-scenes information and anecdotes.

It featured a history of the Daleks, recounting in chronological order the complete story of their creation on the planet Skaro, their many campaigns for universal rule, and their eventual destruction — perhaps.

Information on the Dalek books, records and comic strips — plus dozens of photos, drawings, and promotional materials, many of them rare and selected from Terry Nation’s private collection.

Exterminate! Exterminate!
In December 1963, a seven-part serial called The Daleks appeared on British television — catapulting the offbeat new series Doctor Who to instant international fame. Through the years, the Daleks — half-robot, half-organic, totally evil beings — have returned again and again to firmly establish themselves as the Doctor’s greatest foes. Now, for the first time, Terry Nation, creator of the Daleks, has teamed with John Peel to tell the complete story of the Daleks.

The Official Doctor Who & the Daleks Book was published by St Martin’s Press on December 31, 1988.

October 5, 1988: Doctor Who in “Remembrance of the Daleks”

Season 24 – “Dragonfire”

The Doctor and Ace are caught up in a fierce battle on Earth between two violently opposing factions of Daleks, who will stop at nothing to destroy one another.

First broadcast October 5 – 26, 1988 on BBC One at 7.35pm; four parts

Notable Cast & Crew

  • Sylvester McCoy – “The Doctor”
  • Sophie Aldred – “Ace”
  • Simon Williams – “Gilmore”
  • Pamela Salem – “Rachel”
  • George Sewell – “Ratcliffe”
  • Michael Sheard – “Headmaster”
  • Joseph Marcell – “John”
  • Terry Malloy – “Davros”


Find out more

Novelised as Remembrance of the Daleks

*The 20th Century in Sound & Vision is not responsible for these websites